Russian President Vladimir Putin signed a law to withdraw from the Open Skies Treaty. On June 2, the Federation Council at a plenary session approved the law.

The Open Skies Treaty was signed on March 24, 1992, in Helsinki by representatives of 23 states of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE). Russia ratified this agreement in May 2001.

In November 2020, the United States terminated its obligations under the agreement, after which some countries tried to shift responsibility to Russia for non-compliance with the points of the agreement.

Image upload

Connected Bookmarks